Bashir Abdullahi's Blog

Marriage a burden?

with 7 comments

“When a man steals your wife, there is no better revenge than to let him keep her.” –Lee Majors

Some readers might be asking why I am writing about marriage today.

Am I getting married soon? Not yet, until I am ‘done with my studies’ is the obvious answer.

Marriage ceremony of a friend

This picture was snapped at the wedding of a friend

But don’t ask me when and how!

Then why write about marriage now?

Another obvious answer is “A colleague forwarded a list of some quotes on marriage to me yesterday.”

I’ve read some of them before, but was surprised how they strike me again.

Amazing

I was puzzled at how different people view the marriage institution, especially those who see marriage as a burden or problem.

Here are some of the quotes:

  • “By all means marry. If you get a good wife, you’ll be happy. If you get a bad one, you’ll become a philosopher.” -Socrates
  • “Woman inspires us to great things, and prevents us from achieving them.”- Mike Tyson
  • “The great question… which I have not been able to answer… is, “What does a woman want?”- George Clooney
  • “I had some words with my wife, and she had some paragraphs with me..”- Bill Clinton
  • “I don’t worry about terrorism. I was married for two years.” Rudy Giuliani
  • “There’s a way of transferring funds that is even faster than electronic banking.. It’s called marriage.”- Michael Jordan
  • “I’ve had bad luck with all my wives. The first one left me and the second one didn’t.” The third gave me more children!”- Donald Trump
  • “You know what I did before I married? Anything I wanted to.”- David Hasselhoff
  • ” Marriage is the only war where one sleeps with the enemy.” –Tommy Lee

So what do you think about these quotes?

Do they reflect the real meaning and reality of what marriage is or should be?

Do you think marriage is a burden?

Written by danmakaranta

January 3, 2010 at 1:34 am

Posted in 1, Randoms

Tagged with , , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a coincidence! I was cleaning my inbox last night, and forwarded an email with the same content to Denisa. I wanted to forward it to you, too, but haven’t got your email account.

    Very interesting quotes, aren’t they? I can’t help laughing out loud…

    Yong

    January 3, 2010 at 11:18 am

  2. Yes, I think that is EXACTLY what marriage is like. I’d hate to see what people have to say about children.

    jasenogle

    January 3, 2010 at 6:09 pm

  3. “Women marry men hoping they will change. Men marry women hoping they will not. So each is inevitably disappointed.” – Einstein 😉

    colourfulmess

    January 6, 2010 at 9:16 pm

  4. I posted my thoughts here:

    http://www.cognized.com/?p=14

    trilakhana

    January 29, 2010 at 5:22 pm

  5. Of all qoutations, I love that of Clooney and Tommy Lee best.

    Zakaria

    September 29, 2010 at 8:55 am

  6. What a life ! You cant live without a woman and you cant live with a woman.

    kris

    October 14, 2010 at 1:12 am


Leave a Reply

